List of All African Countries and Their Currency 2024

African countries and currency

In an alphabetical order for easy reading, here is the list of all Countries in Africa and Their Currency name.

Africa has more than 50 different currencies and some of these African currencies are strong enough to be recognised worldwide.

So which currency is the strongest in Africa? currently the Tunisian dinar (TND) is the highest currency in Africa by currency value and this is against the USD.

1USD trades for about 2.92 TND.

And what is the weakest currency in Africa today? The weakest legal tender in the continent is Sierra Leone’s Leone (SLL).

1USD trades for 11,695 SLL.

With that being said below are the currencies in Africa and their respective countries, ranked alphabetically for you.

List of African Currencies and Countries:

Algeria – Algerian dinar.

Angola – Angolan kwanza.

Ascension Island (UK) – Saint Helena pound.

Benin – West African CFA franc.

Botswana – Botswana pula.

Burkina Faso – West African CFA franc.

Burundi – Burundi franc.

Cabo Verde – Cape Verdean escudo.

Cameroon – Central African CFA franc.

Central African Republic – Central African CFA franc. Also,

Chad – Central African CFA franc.

Comoros – Comorian franc.

Congo, Democratic Republic of the – Congolese franc.

Congo, Republic of the – Central African CFA franc.

Cote d’Ivoire – West African CFA franc.

Djibouti – Djiboutian franc.

Egypt – Egyptian pound.

Equatorial Guinea – Central African CFA franc.

Eritrea – Eritrean nakfa.

Eswatini (formerly Swaziland) – Swazi lilangeni.

Ethiopia – Ethiopian birr.

Gabon – Central African CFA franc.

Gambia – Gambian dalasi.

Ghana – Ghanaian cedi.

Guinea – Guinean franc.

Guinea-Bissau – West African CFA franc.

Kenya – Kenyan shilling.

Lesotho – Lesotho loti.

Liberia – Liberian dollar.

TRENDING:  Top 10 Best Cryptocurrencies for Long Term Investment 2024

Libya – Libyan dinar.

Madagascar – Malagasy ariary.

Malawi – Malawian kwacha.

Mali – West African CFA franc.

Mauritania – Mauritanian ouguiya.

Mauritius – Mauritian rupee.

Mayotte (France) – European euro.

Morocco – Moroccan dirham.

Mozambique – Mozambican metical.

Namibia – Namibian dollar.

Niger – West African CFA franc

Nigeria – Nigerian naira.

Reunion (France) – European euro.

Rwanda – Rwandan franc.

Saint Helena (UK) – Saint Helena pound.

Sao Tome and Principe – Sao Tome and Principe Dobra.

Senegal – West African CFA franc.

Seychelles – Seychellois rupee.

Sierra Leone – Sierra Leonean leone.

Somalia – Somali shilling.

South Africa – South African rand.

South Sudan – South Sudanese pound.

Sudan – Sudanese pound.

Tanzania – Tanzanian shilling.

Togo – West African CFA franc.

Tristan da Cunha (UK) – Pound sterling.

Tunisia – Tunisian dinar.

Uganda – Ugandan shilling.

Zambia – Zambian kwacha.

Zimbabwe – United States dollar

Ranked in an alphabetical order, those are the currencies in Africa with their respective countries.

You may also like...